RSS Feed

My Friend (the sea-gull)

There he is – my friend
With wings quite bland
but beak-outstanding                   Flit and  lift
he’s off
not quite got
the flying down but oh
he is grand

 

 

by colleen hannah- for my little friend who just hasn’t got the knack of being a sea-gull. I am not convinced he really knows his true origins at all. But we like to hang out and discuss the days events, nonetheless.

About vancouverislandpsychosis

I am just an island girl, literally and at heart. The ocean's edge is where I find what I lost during the year, usually that is my brain. I am a fan of laughter and anyone who can laugh at his or herself. I myself need laughter to live, and of course a beach nearby.

One response »

  1. I would say this poem is a good start but does not take the image far enough. I try in my poems to make each image work hard enough to arrive at some truth, useful to both myself and the reader. Gulls are beautiful animals, great flyers, but also aggressive and noisy. I know this little guy is cute, but he will grow up to be just like his relatives, and I would try and make something of this difference; in other words, his cuteness is not enough to carry the poem, but is enough to get it off the ground.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

